Keynote Speakers

As we gear up for the next symposium, we are updating our information. This page is under revision as we arrange speakers and the schedule of the day.


Three Keynote Speakers:


Jerry L. Hatfield, Ph.D.

Jerry HatfieldDr. Jerry L. Hatfield is the Laboratory Director of the USDA-ARS National Laboratory for Agriculture in Ames, Iowa, and co-PI on the Agriculture Model Improvement and Intercomparison Project.  He graduated from Kansas State University in 1971 with a B.S., University of Kentucky in 1972 with a M.S., and in 1975 with a Ph.D. from Iowa State University in Agricultural Climatology. His personal research focuses on quantifying the interactions among the components of the soil-plant-atmosphere system to quantify resilience of cropping systems to climate change and development of techniques to enhance decision-making for agriculture. He leads the agriculture sector for the National Climate Assessment, a member of the IPCC process that received the 2007 Nobel Peace Prize, and lead on the agriculture indicators of climate change for the USGCRP. He is a Fellow of the American Society of Agronomy, Crop Science Society of America, and Soil Science Society of America and Past-President of the American Society of Agronomy and member of the American Meteorological Society, American Geophysical Union and Soil and Water Conservation Society.  He is the recipient of numerous awards and was elected to the ARS Hall of Fame in 2014 for his research on improving agriculture and environmental quality and the Hugh Hammond Bennett award in 2016 for his national and international work on conservation. He is the author or co-author of 443 refereed publications and the editor of 18 monographs.


Charles Rice, Ph.D.